Fuoco paced the 30-minute session, featuring the fastest eight cars from Wednesday's first qualifying, with a best time of 3m22.982s at the wheel of the 499P he shares with Miguel Molina and Nicklas Nielsen.

Both of the Ferrari LMHs jumped to the top of the timesheets early on, with Alessandro Pier Guidi initially leading the way on a 3m23.987s in the #51 car ahead of Fuoco in the sister #50 entry.

Pier Guidi then improved to a 3m23.478s, which was scrubbed for a track limits infringement, before Fuoco upped the ante by posting the first sub-3m23s effort of the week so far, outpacing his team-mate by 0.773s despite getting baulked by a GTE Am Ferrari exiting Indianapolis.

That time remained the benchmark when the session was red-flagged with five minutes left on the clock as a result of Cadillac driver Sebastien Bourdais stopping at the first chicane after suffering a dramatic fire.

Bourdais was able to escape the smouldering #3 Cadillac V.Series-R unscathed, having set the third-fastest time with a 3m24.908s - although that was deleted as a result of the car causing the red flag.

Cadillac later reported the cause of the fire had been traced to a "burst high-pressure fuel hose".

When the session resumed, both Toyotas improved but neither Kamui Kobayashi nor Brendon Hartley could truly threaten the Ferraris.

Kobayashi briefly went third-fastest in the #7 GR010 HYBRID with a 3m24.267s, but this was lost to a track limits infringement, putting last year's polesitter Hartley third on a 3m24.451s - albeit 1.469s off the pace.

#50 Ferrari AF Corse Ferrari 499P of Antonio Fuoco

Photo by: Nikolaz Godet

Porsche driver Felipe Nasr went fourth at the end of the session with his one and only timed lap of 3m24.531s, having spent most of the session in the pits and not setting a time before the red flag.

The #7 Toyota ended up fifth on the strength of Kobayashi's second-best time, followed by the #2 Cadillac of Earl Bamber and the #5 Porsche of Frederic Makowiecki.

Bourdais was credited with eighth on the basis of the second-fastest time he set before the #3 car's demise.

Pole in LMP2 went to the IDEC Sport ORECA of Paul-Loup Chatin, who survived a late challenge from JOTA driver Pietro Fittipaldi.

Chatin set the benchmark time of 3m32.923s prior to the red flag, with Fittipaldi’s last-gasp effort after the session resumed falling short by a little over a tenth of a second.

Fittipaldi’s late improvement knocked the WRT ORECA of Louis Deletraz down to third place, ahead of the COOL Racing car of Reshad de Gerus and the Prema Racing entry of Lamborghini factory driver Mirko Bortolotti.

Corvette Racing secured pole in GTE Am courtesy of bronze-rated driver Ben Keating.

#33 Corvette Racing Chevrolet Corvette C8.R of Nicky Catsburg, Ben Keating, Nicolas Varrone, #50 Ferrari AF Corse Ferrari 499P of Antonio Fuoco, Miguel Molina, Nicklas Nielsen, #48 Idec Sport Oreca 07 - Gibson of Paul Lafargue, Paul Loup Chatin, Laurents Horr

Photo by: Nikolaz Godet

It was Keating that set the early pace on a 3m53.589s, which the Texan subsequently improved to a 3m52.376s after the red flag.

That put the solo works Corvette C8.R a comfortable 1.529s ahead of his nearest rival, Omani driver Ahmad Al Harthy at the wheel of the ORT by TF Aston Martin Vantage GTE.

A trio of AF Corse Ferrari 488 GTEs were next up, the #54 car of Thomas Flohr leading the #21 example of Julien Piguet and the Richard Mille-backed #83 of Luis Perez Companc.

Le Mans 24 Hours - Hyperpole results

150 Nicklas Nielsen Ferrari 499PHYPERCAR 3'22.982
251 Alessandro Pier Guidi Ferrari 499PHYPERCAR 3'23.755 0.773
38 Ryo Hirakawa Toyota GR010 - HybridHYPERCAR 3'24.451 1.469
475 Nick Tandy Porsche 963HYPERCAR 3'24.531 1.549
57 Jose Maria Lopez Toyota GR010 - HybridHYPERCAR 3'24.933 1.951
62 Richard Westbrook Cadillac V-Series.RHYPERCAR 3'25.170 2.188
75 Frédéric Makowiecki Porsche 963HYPERCAR 3'25.176 2.194
83 Renger van der Zande Cadillac V-Series.RHYPERCAR 3'25.521 2.539
948 Paul Lafargue Oreca 07LMP2 3'32.923 9.941
1028 Oliver Rasmussen Oreca 07LMP2 3'33.035 10.053
1141 Robert Kubica Oreca 07LMP2 3'33.240 10.258
1247 Simon Pagenaud Oreca 07LMP2 3'33.580 10.598
1363 Doriane Pin Oreca 07LMP2 3'33.983 11.001
1414 Rodrigo Sales Oreca 07LMP2 3'34.021 11.039
159 Bent Viscaal Oreca 07LMP2 3'34.658 11.676
1610 Matthias Kaiser Oreca 07LMP2 3'35.091 12.109
1733 Nicolás Varrone Chevrolet Corvette C8.RLMGTE AM 3'52.376 29.394
1825 Charles Eastwood Aston Martin Vantage AMRLMGTE AM 3'53.905 30.923
1954 Davide Rigon Ferrari 488 GTE EVOLMGTE AM 3'54.582 31.600
2021 Julien Piguet Ferrari 488 GTE EVOLMGTE AM 3'54.744 31.762
2183 Lilou Wadoux Ferrari 488 GTE EVOLMGTE AM 3'55.033 32.051
2257 Daniel Serra Ferrari 488 GTE EVOLMGTE AM 3'55.637 32.655
2355 Marco Sorensen Aston Martin Vantage AMRLMGTE AM 3'57.240 34.258
2474 Naoki Yokomizo Ferrari 488 GTE EVOLMGTE AM 3'59.648 36.666
View full results

2023-06-08T19:05:51Z dg43tfdfdgfd